Skip to content

Define Business Roles

Create Business Roles #

In your tenant, you will need to navigate to Application and User Management > Business Roles

In the Business Role view of the Application and User Management center click New >Business Role from the drop-down menu.

Enter the ID, Name, and Description of the Business Role.

Under User Responsible you can enter other users to whom you want to give responsibility for the business tole when they choose Show- My Business Roles in the business roles worklist.
Note: that the user who creates the business role is automatically added to this list
However, anyone who is authorized to make changes in the Business Roles view can change the business role.

Enter the ID, Name, and Description of the Business Role.
Under User Responsible you can enter other users to whom you want to give responsibility for the business tole when they choose Show- My Business Roles in the business roles worklist.
Note: that the user who creates the business role is automatically added to this list
However, anyone who is authorized to make changes in the Business Roles view can change the business role.
Choose Work Center and View Assignment and from the list of Available Work Centers, choose the work centers you want to assign to the business role and select the Assigned to Business Role checkbox. You can also remove work centers by de-selecting the corresponding checkbox.

For each selected work center, the system displays the associated views in the list of Available Work Centers and Views. Choose the views you want to assign to the business role and select the Assigned to Business Role checkbox. You can also remove views by deselecting the corresponding checkbox.
Check whether the assignments conflict with the segregation of duties. Conflicts with segregation of duties are displayed with a red traffic light. If a segregation of duty conflict occurs, see the solution at the bottom of the screen in the Segregation of Duty Conflicts table.

If you want to restrict read and write access for users to whom this business role is assigned, choose Access Restrictions.

You can choose between the following settings for access restrictions:
No Access- (only available as a restriction for write access) The user has no write access.
Unrestricted- the user has access to all business data related to the view.
Restricted- the user only has access to specific business data, depending on the access context. If you select Restricted, you can restrict read and write access on the basis of predefined restriction rules that you can choose from the Restriction Rule dropdown list.

Click, Actions and choose Check Access Rights Consistency to check whether the access rights are consistent.

You should see the following page:
Click Go.

If activities are displayed on the Check Access Rights Consistency screen, the access rights are inconsistent. Check whether you need to redefine the access rights.

Before you can assign the business role to a business user, you must first activate it, by clicking Actions, then choosing Activate.

You should see the following screen:
The status of the business role changes from In Preparation to Active. (Note: You can also save the business role without activating it.)

Assign a Business Role to a Business User #

You should see the following screen:

Select the business user to whom you want to grant the access rights defined in the business role.

Choose the Business Role Assignment. Under Available Business Roles, you can see all active business roles that are available in the system.
To assign a business role to the user select the corresponding checkbox in the Assigned to User column.

Click on Save.

Powered by BetterDocs